top of page

Behind the Veil | Wedding Story

My husbands mom never had a daughter of her own so once we got engaged she told me she is so excited to finally have a daughter. When it came time to plan our wedding she offered me this round box. I opened the box and it was a veil. Her veil that she wore 30 years ago. She said if I wanted I could wear it on my wedding day.

Since she got married in the 80’s, I showed the veil to my mother who is amazingly crafty and artistic and she was able to modernize the veil by taking off some floral beading to create a broach instead of a headband. The removed flower beading was put to good use. Take a look at husbands boutonniere on my previous post! My mother also added lace from her wedding dress that she also wore 30 years ago which added not just detail to the veil but a whole lot of symbolism. I was wearing 60 years of proof that a long and happy marriage can exist.

When people ask me what my favorite part about my wedding day the first thing I say is saying “I do” to the man of my dreams. The second would be to have worn a veil that meant a whole lot more than just enhancing my wedding dress.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page