top of page

Do-It-Yourself | Baby Girl Onsie

Updated: Apr 18, 2020

My sister is expecting baby #3 and she recently found out the gender. After having two boys she was convinced that she was having another boy. She felt like she was “born to be a boy mom” and “the universe

wants her to have boys”. Well we’re so happy to find out that she’s having a girl!


So naturally, I started thinking of all the cute Silhouette Cameo projects I could make for this

little princess. Typically I don’t feel like I’m super creative to come up with my own designs when it comes to adding cute characters or symbols (I’m only creative with fonts/words) but I felt like this design was worth sharing.


First, I’m using my Silhouette Studio to create this design and my Silhouette Cameo 3 to cut out my finished work.


Step-By-Step


  1. Create your design. Since this little girl is going to have two big brothers I wanted to do something incorporating bows and brothers, so I decided on “Bows and Big Bros” using font Astereiska. NOTE: this font is extremely thin which will make weeding the vinyl very difficult. To make the font thicker I create a slight offset (0.03). Once you’ve applied the offset, click and drag out the original font and now you have a thicker version of your original font.

  2. Format the words in a way that pleases you.

  3. Now that the Bows and Big Bros was been created it’s time to girly it up. I decided to put a bow and some stars/shapes. Because it’s too hard to explain in writing, I found this awesome video on youtube by The Rhinestone World that illustrates how to layer two different colored vinyls without the vinyls overlapping. Follow this method to layer a bow of your choice over the letter B.

  4. Then take some stars and varying shapes and place them around your design until you’re happy with the design.

  5. Once you’re design is complete, flip the design so it looks backwards.

  6. Send to cut and let your machine do the work. Once complete, weed the excess vinyl, place design on your onesie and iron. Than your work is complete!


I can’t wait to see my sweet little niece in this onesie!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page