top of page

Do-It-Yourself | Hello My Name Is... Onesie

Here is a step-by-step tutorial on how I created a baby onesie inspired by a Hello My Name Is sticker/tag:

Step 1: Create a rectangle. I chose to use rounded edges. It doesn't matter how large because you can always resize at a later time.


Step 2: Fill this rectangle in with a solid color. I chose the color black.


Step 3: Create a second rectangle that'll go inside of the first rectangle.


Step 4: Select both rectangles and "create compound path". This will create one design piece.


Step 5: Choose the text tool and type "Hello, My Name Is:" in the font of your choosing. I chose American Typewriter. Align and resize at the top of the rectangle.


Step 6: Click on both the rectangle and the text font and "create compound path" to make it one design piece.


Step 7: Type out the name you would like to use. Resize the font and align to the center of the design you've created thus far. Fill in the color (I chose black). This helps with visualizing what vinyl you'll be weeding out once the design is cut.


Step 8: Create another thin rectangle and fill that color in. Align and size according to your liking.


Step 9: Group the entire design together.


Step 10: Resize the design according to the material size you'll be ironing this onto. Because I'll be putting it on a baby onesie, I made this design approximately 3.5"x 5".


Step 11: Mirror your design horizontally. This step is necessary so you're design isn't backwards when you go to iron on he design.


Step 12: Select your cut settings. I chose "Heat Transfer, Smooth". Place your iron-on vinyl on your cutting mat, shiny side down, load the mat into your cutting machine and send your design to cut!


Once the cutting process is complete, weed the design and iron on the design onto your material using a regular household iron or a Cricut EasyPress 2. I highly recommend the Easypress 2! It makes your design go on evenly and takes 30 seconds to iron on.


And you're done! Simple, easy, DIY baby onesie! Perfect for a baby name or birth announcement!


*Photo slideshow is in order from steps 1-12 for visual representation of the written step-by-step tutorial



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page