top of page

Do-It-Yourself | Newborn Photoshoot

Updated: Apr 18, 2020

When I was pregnant with my first son I started researching newborn photographers in my local area and it was decided very early on that we would not be getting professional photos taken simply due to the cost. It wasn’t an expense that my husband and I were willing to pay. So I decided to do my own. When my son was 10 days old, in the morning I made some props with his boppy and a few blankets my mom had crocheted and took a gazillion photos. Here are some of the results:



Though they are not nearly as cute as a professional with all the extra props and wraps but I was able to get a few photos that I was happy to print and put in his nursery.

For those who don’t want to spend a mini fortune on professional photos, all you need is a few simple items:


  1. Boppy or baby lounger

  2. Different colored textured blankets

  3. Camera – I used my Sony mirrorless camera but I’m sure a phone camera like an iPhone will do

  4. Natural sunlight!


If you can spare the expense, I’m sure getting newborn photos taken is a fun experience but for those who either don’t want to spend the money or for those who just want to take photos of your newborn baby, I had a lot of fun interacting with my newborn during our photoshoot so this is a good experience to bond with that precious newborn of yours.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page