top of page

Capsule Wardrobe | Classy Yet Trendy

Back in 2018, my sister, mother, and I came across this concept of a capsule wardrobe. After some research, we discovered that it’s minimalism within your closet. Since we found ourselves always wearing the same clothes all the time we figured we’d give it a try. We purchased the Simplified Style Year-Round Capsule Wardrobe e-book by Leanne Blackmon, the creator of Classy Yet Trendy.

This is a capsule outfit. White tee, black jeans, and sperry type shoes. Suppose to be paired with a jean jacket but it was way too warm. See… simplified and never out of style! This is a more simplified outfit; other outfits seem more dressy.

This book is great because it gives you a detail layout of what to wear during each season. This capsule sticks to clothing that never goes out of style so this truly is something I’ll stick with forever. Leanne first tells you which pieces you’ll need so if you don’t already have them you can thrift the items like we did. Since the items are simplified style you’ll probably find that you already own a majority of the pieces. For example, a jean jacket, pencil skirt, black dress. Other things were investment pieces like a trench coat. I didn’t own one until this capsule, but I purchased mine from Old Navy for around $50 (on sale) so it wasn’t too expensive. Then she lays out the actual outfit for you. Leanne sets a calendar with outfit numbers and you can wear that outfit based on which capsule you decide to purchase. Or you can just choose your own outfit. Up to you!

For items that weren’t found in the capsule, I ended up donating. There were the exception pieces though. There were certain shirts and shoes I wear constantly so I wasn’t quite ready to part with those items immediately. But after throwing what seemed like the majority of my closet I seriously felt like a weight came off my chest. I also felt great donating my items to those who needed it more than me.

Now that I have my capsule complete it seriously saves me so much time. With having a 16 month old and not a sense of fashion, getting ready in the morning takes less than 10 minutes (makeup and all). Since I’m a flight attendant and required to wear a uniform to work, having a capsule wardrobe just makes more sense in the form of packing for trips. Every 4th month I’m on reserve and I never know where I’ll be going, so packing can be difficult. Will it be hot? Cold? Long layover or short? The capsule makes packing easy. More to come on how I pack for work/travel.

So if you’re like me and have a hard time with fashion or find yourself wearing the same thing over and over, then I recommend considering a capsule wardrobe! I love my year-round capsule because it’s one book but Leanne creates new e-books for every new season so you could start off with that in case you’re unsure of committing to the year-round capsule.

I hope you all find this helpful. The part I love most is that it makes packing for work/travel way easier. Good luck to you all venturing into this wonderful world of Capsuling!

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page